operation UPROOTIN'
11:05 p.m. - 2006-09-27

so...everyone ready for a shock?

i quit my job. it's so strange to say or type those words, but i really did it.

and not only that, but i'm going home to maine for a couple of months. i have no idea what i'm going to do for a job there. in all honesty, i'm not *stoked* about going home. it's mostly for my parents. dad's having surgery for his prostate cancer at the end of this month, and mom...well, she's still not moving on from the marriage she lost a year ago. i'm going back to maine, but i don't really have many close friends back there, and mom and dad are probably going to be kind of sad to be around. and i'll be away from ben for 2 months...i cringe as i say that. oi.

still, it really does feel good inside to know that i have this opportunity to help mom and dad, and i'm taking it. heh, now all i've got to do is, well...help them. especially mum. part of me feels as though i need to devise some plan to help my mom get back on her feet, socially, and start really living again. seeking out fun. being confident. but those are things i can't do for her. that's the thing -- how do i help her on her way to becoming a happy, independent woman, yet make sure that in all of my effort i don't make her dependent on me. it could all backfire.

i have gotten some nice advice from coworkers the past couple of days. mostly just reminding me that yes, i can help, but i can't make my mother a confident person -- she needs to do that on her own. and also reminding me that i'm her daughter and friend, and that just being there for her will probably be the most helpful. obviously i don't know if this advice is "right" or not, but i'll tell you...it certainly lightens my little heart a bit, since i'm no psychiatrist and really have no fricken idea where to start :P

in other news, ben and i are going to go visit erika in SF this weekend. also, soon, we will be going on a hayride (assuming we can find one). ooo, and ben and erika are going to pay for me to get a professional, 1-1/2 hour massage, as a belated birthday present. mmmmmmmmmmmmmm. i am so lucky. and STOKED.

uprooting muhself,
allison

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland
+ jupiter dynamica
+ too late the hero

I am: 23 years old, living in sunny CA, sassy, silly and open-minded

loves: laughter, sunshine, animals, pretty music, my ultra-cute boyfriend, art, and all things chocolate

hates: war, months of nonstop rain, bugs in my kitchen, closed-mindedness, and expensive stuff i want but can't afford